Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy Dean, School of Education SOE - School of Education

Dr. Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy believes in the revolutionary power of school counseling. An American Counseling Association (ACA) Fellow with 30 years of experience as a former kindergarten teacher, element

  cholcomb@american.edu

Corbin Campbell Associate Dean, Academic Affairs and Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Campbell is Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Associate Professor in the School of Education. Her research, funded by the Spencer Foundation and the National Academy of Education, examines th

  campbell@american.edu

  (202) 885-8256

Faculty

 

Alida Anderson Professor SOE - School of Education

Alida Anderson is a professor in the School of Education at American University. She earned her PhD in special education from the University of Maryland, College Park focusing on early childhood langu

  alida.anderson@american.edu

  (202) 885-6214

Alberto Cabrera Scholar-in-Residence

Dr. Cabrera is a professor emeritus at UMD, and scholar-in-residence at the Center for Postsecondary Readiness and Success (CPRS) at the American University. His research interests include the impact

  albertocabrera@american.edu

Altheria Caldera Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Altheria Caldera is Senior Professorial Lecturer in in the School of Education at American University. Her research and scholarship focus on ways educators can advance racial equity in schools. Specif

  caldera@american.edu

Samantha Cohen Executive Director of EdD Program and Senior Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Samantha directs the School of Education's doctoral studies, and she is responsible for launching the inaugural, practitioner based program in education leadership and policy. Samantha teaches courses

  cohen@american.edu

  (202) 885-8965

Amaarah DeCuir Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Amaarah DeCuir, EdD, educator, researcher, and inclusive pedagogy fellow, is a faculty member at American University in the School of Education and an Executive Board member at the Center for Islam in

  adecuir@american.edu

  (202) 885-2124

Antonio Ellis Scholar in Res. and Director of the Institute for Education Equity and Justice

Dr. Antonio L. Ellis is a Scholar in Residence and Director of the Institute on Education Equity and Justice at the American University School of Education. He teaches special education courses and ad

  aellis@american.edu

Olatokunbo Fashola Research Professor in Residence SOE - School of Education

Dr. Olatokunbo (Toks) Fashola is a Research Professor and the Faculty Coordinator for the Dual Enrollment Program at American University. Her current research interests include STEM among underreprese

  fashola@american.edu

  (202) 885-3716

Annice Fisher Adjunct Professorial Lect

As the CEO & Founder of The BEE FREE Woman and Developing Capacity Coaching, LLC, she coaches individuals and teams to use conscious leadership as a tool for inner healing and advancing equity. As an

  annicef@american.edu

Michael Gibbons Scholar in Residence SOE - School of Education

Mr. Gibbons is ITEP Scholar in Residence at the School of Education for 2020-2022 academic years. He has worked in basic education, community development and social justice since the mid 1970s in nume

  gibbons@american.edu

Kecia Hayes Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. kecia hayes has been a champion of antiracist k-12 leadership and praxis across a variety of organizational settings in New York City for more than two decades. Most recently, she led two communit

  khayes@american.edu

Sarah Irvine Belson Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Sarah Irvine Belson holds a PhD from Arizona State University in Curriculum and Instruction with a cognate in Special Education. Her research explores educational opportunity for children with dis

  sirvine@american.edu

  (202) 885-3714

Reuben Jacobson Director of Education Policy and Leadership Program & Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Reuben Jacobson has worked at the intersection of education research, policy, and practice for nearly 20 years. He is committed to educational change and equity and has substantial experience desi

  reubenj@american.edu

  (202) 885-3786

Jisun Jeong Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Jisun Jeong is a researcher, educator, and practitioner with expertise in low-income and crisis-affected contexts. As a scholar-practitioner, she is committed to interdisciplinary and policy-relev

  jjeong@american.edu

  (202) 895-7651

Ocheze Joseph Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Ocheze Joseph is a proud DC native, and she is passionate about teaching and learning in urban settings. Dr. Joseph has served in several K-12 roles including serving as a reading specialist, an a

  ojoseph@american.edu

Anne Karabell Instructor SOE - School of Education

Annie Murphy Karabell is a researcher in the Institute for Innovation in Education at the School of Education. Her research interests include early childhood literacy, reading disabilities, inclusive

  karabell@american.edu

  (202) 885-8253

Stefan Lallinger Scholar-in-Residence

Dr. Lallinger is an Education Fellow at the Century Foundation, a non-partisan progressive think tank, and the Director of the Bridges Collaborative, a national initiative that serves as a hub for pra

  slallinger@american.edu

Brian McGowan Assoc Professor SOE - School of Education

Brian L. McGowan, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor of Education and Associate Director in the Center for Teaching, Research, & Learning at American University. Dr. McGowan’s interdisciplinary research

  bmcgowan@american.edu

  (202) 885-2809

Cynthia Miller-Idriss Professor, School of Public Affairs and School of Education SPA - School of Public Affairs

Cynthia Miller-Idriss is a sociologist and professor in the School of Public Affairs and in the School of Education, and runs the Polarization and Extremism Research & Innovation Lab (PERIL).Dr. Mille

  (202) 885-3740

Terence Ngwa Director of ARASL Program & Senior Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Terence Ngwa is a veteran educator and organizational leader with over 20 years of national and international service. A lifelong union leader and advocate, he has worked for many years to ensure

  ngwa@american.edu

Hannah Park Assoc Librarian University Library

Hannah Lee Park is the Education and School of Professional & Extended Studies Librarian at American University. Her professional roots began in the field of education. She started out as a high schoo

  hpark@american.edu

  (202) 885-3845

Carolyn Parker Director of Master of Arts in Teaching Program and Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Carolyn Parker is the Director of Graduate Teacher Education in the School of Education. She began her career in science education as a Peace Corps volunteer in Guatemala, where she helped develop int

  caparker@american.edu

  (202) 885-6259

Emily Grossnickle Peterson Asst Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Emily Grossnickle Peterson is an Assistant Professor in the School of Education and an affiliate faculty member in the Psychology Department and the Behavior, Cognition, and Neuroscience PhD progr

  epeterso@american.edu

  (202) 885-3098

Andrea Pittman Sr Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Dr. Guiden Pittman is a Senior Professorial Lecturer in the School of Education. An education historian, Dr. Guiden Pittman, teaches courses on social justice, urban education, and the role of schools

  guidenpi@american.edu

Robert Shand Asst Professor SOE - School of Education

Robert D. Shand is Assistant Professor in the School of Education at American University. He received his Ph.D. in Economics and Education from Teachers College, Columbia University. A former high sch

  rshand@american.edu

  (202) 885-6917

Robert Simmons Scholar in Residence and Scholar of Antiracist Praxis SOE - School of Education

Robert began his career as a middle school STEM teacher in the Detroit Public Schools. As a former teacher, school administrator, school district senior leader, and tenured professor of urban educatio

  rsimmons@american.edu

Jason Snyder Hurst Sr Prof Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Jason Snyder’s teaching and research focuses on education law and education policy. He developed and served as founding director of AU's Education Policy and Leadership (EPL) program from 2014-2018. P

  jtsnyder@american.edu

  (202) 885-6209

Jennifer Steele Assoc Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Jennifer L. Steele is an Associate Professor in the School of Education at American University (AU), and an affiliate faculty member in AU's Department of Public Administration and Policy. Her res

  steele@american.edu

  (202) 885-3762

William Thomas Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

William N. Thomas IV joined the faculty at American University in 2021 as a Professorial Lecturer in the School of Education’s EdD program. After graduating in 2004 with a BA degree in English from Mo

  wthomas@american.edu

  (202) 885-8254

Vivian Vasquez Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Vivian Maria Vasquez is a Professor of Education at American University. She has worked in the field of education for over 30 years. Her research interests are in critical literacy, early literacy

  vvasque@american.edu

Stephen Vassallo Assoc Professor SOE - School of Education

In his teaching and scholarship, Vassallo works to merge perspectives to critically explore issues related to teaching and learning, especially in the context of academic self-regulation. He draws fro

  vassallo@american.edu

  (202) 885-3048

Elizabeth A. Worden Assoc Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Elizabeth Anderson Worden is a comparative and international education scholar who examines how governments foster identities and belonging through education during social and political transition

  eaworden@american.edu

  (202) 885-3723

Affiliate Faculty

 

Seth Gershenson Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Seth Gershenson holds a PhD from Michigan State University in Economics with a primary focus on education policy. While at Michigan State, he taught several courses and received an Outstanding Teachin

  seth.gershenson@american.edu

  (202) 885-2687

Thomas Husted Professor and Department Chair, Anthropology CAS - Economics

My research examines the political economy of various government expenditure programs, including primary and secondary education, income redistribution, and federal disaster aid.

  husted@american.edu

  (202) 885-3773

Alison Jacknowitz Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Alison Jacknowitz is the Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs for the School of Public Affairs (SPA) at American University and a Professor in the De

  jacknowi@american.edu

  (202) 885-2137

Kiho Kim Professor Academic Affairs, Office of

Kiho Kim (he/him) is a Professor in the Department of Environmental Science and is the Executive Director of the Center for Teaching, Research, & Learning at American University. His research focuses

  kiho@american.edu

  (202) 885-2181

Naomi Moland Sr Professorial Lecturer SIS - School of International Service

Naomi A. Moland’s research and teaching focus on global media, international education, peace and conflict, LGBT rights, and the globalization of pluralist ideologies. Her recent book (based on her aw

  moland@american.edu

  (202) 885-6621

Taryn Morrissey Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Dr. Morrissey's work centers on examining and improving public policies for vulnerable children. Ongoing research examines early care and education policy, paid family leave, family economic instab

  morrisse@american.edu

  (202) 885-6323

John Nolan Professor CAS - Math and Statistics

Prof. Nolan has taught at the University of Zambia (in Africa), and Kenyon College (in Ohio), and worked in a software company before coming to American University. His main research interests are in

  jpnolan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3140

Susan Shepler Assoc Professor SIS - School of International Service

Susan Shepler is an anthropologist with twenty years of experience working in conflict-affected West Africa. Her research focus is understanding how local communities engage with international interve

  shepler@american.edu

Amanda Taylor Asst. VP of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Campus Life

Dr. Taylor's research and teaching focus on the intersection of culture, power, and education in domestic and international contexts. She earned her doctorate of education and her master's in educatio

  ataylor@american.edu

  (202) 885-3827