Christopher Adams Adjunct Instructor

Chris Adams is the director of state news for The AARP Bulletin, a news publication that goes to 23 million homes nationwide. Before that, he was director of training at the National Press Foundation,

  adams@american.edu

Mary Ann Akers Adjunct Instructor

Mary Ann Akers is an adjunct professor of journalism with more than 25 years' worth of expertise as a print and broadcast reporter. She was a correspondent for The Washington Post and NPR, and a colum

  akers@american.edu

Paul Albergo Adjunct Assoc Prof

Paul Albergo (he/him) just retired from serving as executive editor for Bloomberg Industry Group, where he oversaw the company's 240-person newsroom. Paul started with the company, then known as BNA,

  paul.albergo@american.edu

Cecilia Capuzzi Simon Sr Adj Prof Lecturer

Cecilia Capuzzi Simon is a senior adjunct professorial lecturer in the School of Communication. She has taught journalism courses at AU for 26 years, including Writing for Communication (Comm 200), Re

  csimon@american.edu

Matt Glassman Adjunct Professorial Lect

Matt Glassman (SOC '92) is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He serves as Assistant News Director for NBC4 News, NBC's owned station in Washington, DC. Matt joined News4 as an Assignment Editor in J

  matt.glassman@american.edu

Jennifer LaFleur Adjunct Professorial Lect SOC - School of Communication

Jennifer LaFleur joined AU in Fall 2017 as data journalist in residence and data editor for The Investigative Reporting Workshop. Previously, she was a senior editor at Reveal from The Center for Inve

  lafleur@american.edu

Christine Lawrence Assistant Prof Emerita

Christine C. Lawrence is a full-time professor of Journalism. She brings her experience covering politics and government to the SOC journalism division having worked for 10 years as a senior editor an

Donald Markus Adjunct Instructor

Don Markus is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He has been teaching in the SOC for the past seven years. A sportswriter for the Baltimore Sun since 1985, Markus has taught Sports Journalis

  markus@american.edu

Elvina Nawaguna Adjunct Professorial Lect

Elvina Nawaguna is an adjunct professor at American University’s School of Communication. She’s also the deputy editor for Business Insider’s Washington, D.C. bureau.She has also been an energy and en

  nawaguna@american.edu

Fernando Pizarro Adjunct Professorial Lect

Fernando Pizarro is a Supervising Editor at NPR's Morning Edition. He has been a long-time political reporter and an adjunct professorial lecturer at the School of Communications at American Universit

  fpizarro@american.edu

Dani Rizzo Adjunct Instructor

With a passion for purpose-driven communication and digital storytelling, Dani Rizzo currently serves as the digital director at the Humane Rescue Alliance, overseeing digital communication efforts, i

  drizzo@american.edu

Robert Roberts Adjunct Instructor

Rob Roberts is the Director of Digital Strategy for the U.S. Department of Energy. Prior to joining Energy, Rob worked in a number of digital roles throughout government, academia and journalism, incl

  robertr@american.edu

Andrew Tran Adjunct Instructor

Andrew Ba Tran is an investigative data reporter for the Washington Post.  He shared in winning the Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting in 2018 for the coverage of candidate Roy Moore's alleged

  tran@american.edu

Brian Westley Adjunct Instructor

Brian Westley is an adjunct instructor at American University. He is also Content Counsel at Axios Media. At Axios, Mr. Westley advises journalists on a broad range of media law issues and conducts pr

  bwestley@american.edu

Brett Zongker Adjunct Instructor

Brett Zongker is a communications and media strategist who spent more than a dozen years in journalism. In addition to teaching at AU, Zongker is chief of media relations at the Library of Congress. H

  zongker@american.edu