Last name starts with A

Sumaira Akber Director of Undergraduate Student & Academic Affairs SOC - School of Communication

Sumaira Akber joined SOC in 2017. Prior to coming to AU, Sumaira held a variety of positions in higher education including  Georgia State University, University of Maryland Global Campus, George Washi

  sumaira@american.edu

  (202) 885-2038

Stephanie Andrews Director of Enrollment and Analytics SOC - School of Communication

Stephanie returned to American University in 2020, after five years at the American Immigration Council, where she led business development of private sector exchange visitor programs for interns and

  rucker@american.edu

  (202) 885-2025

Last name starts with B

Laura BonDurant Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs SOC - School of Communication

Laura BonDurant joined the SOC in Janauary 2010. Prior to her role in the SOC she served as the Director of the Center for Academic Success at The Catholic University of America. Previously she was th

  bonduran@american.edu

  (202) 885-2054

Last name starts with C

Last name starts with D

Delauren Davis Assistant Director, Special Programs SOC - School of Communication

DeLauren Davis joined SOC in July 2022 as the Assistant Director for Special Programs. She manages the Discover the World program, Dean’s Interns program alongside various strategic partnerships for S

  delauren@american.edu

  (202) 885-2098

Julie Drizin Executive Director, Current SOC - School of Communication

Julie Drizin joined SOC in 2015, as the first Executive Director of Current, the trade publication that serves public broadcasting. She has worked in and around public media for over three decades. Sh

  drizin@american.edu

Last name starts with E

Erin Eaton Media Services Manager SOC - School of Communication

Erin Eaton has been immersed in educational environments for over a decade and acts as the Media Services Manager for SOC. She supports classroom and video production technology in the Media Innovatio

  eeaton@american.edu

Adam Edge Financial Operations Manager, IRW SOC - School of Communication

Having worked for So Others Might Eat (SOME) in DC and Victory Programs in Boston, Adam Edge brings a range of experiences in nonprofit management to his current role as Financial Operations Manager a

  edge@american.edu

  (202) 885-3609

Karen Everhart Managing Editor, Current SOC - School of Communication

Karen is a media reporter chronicling public broadcasting’s adaptations to the multiplatform world of digital media. A senior editor at Current since 2001, she covers public radio – its funding

  everhart@american.edu

Last name starts with F

Brandon Ferry Recruitment Coordinator SOC - School of Communication

Brandon Ferry joined the Graduate Academic Services team in 2019 as the School of Communication’s Recruitment Coordinator. In this role, he advises prospective graduate students on the school's master

  bferry@american.edu

  (202) 885-2018

Tom Fish Technology Manager SOC - School of Communication

A member of the AU community since 2006, Tom Fish currently serves as Media Services Manager in the School of Communication. He oversees video production and post-production facilities, a newsroom, ph

  tfish@american.edu

  (202) 885-2132

Tara Flakker Senior Academic Advisor SOC - School of Communication

Tara Flakker joined the School of Communication in January 2014. Prior to AU, she was an at home parent and community advocate on school food inequity in DC. Before breaking from full time employment

  flakker@american.edu

  (202) 885-2088

Last name starts with H

Blake Harris Academic Program Assistant SOC - School of Communication

Blake joined SOC in 2022 as the Academic Program Assistant supporting the Journalism and FMA divisions. Prior to coming to AU, Blake worked at President Lincoln's Cottage as a Museum Program Associate

  blake@american.edu

Kristian Higgins Part Time Staff SOC - School of Communication

Kris is the Director of Operations & Production for the Investigative Reporting Workshop. He has a background in non-profit management, having spent more than a decade overseeing grants and programs f

  khiggins@american.edu

  (202) 885-2679

Last name starts with I

Grace Ibrahim Video Production Coordinator SOC - School of Communication

Originally Palestinian, Grace Ibrahim grew up all over the Middle East in Saudi Arabia, Jordan and Bahrain. She is now living in Arlington, VA pursuing everything video and audio production!

  gracei@american.edu

Last name starts with J

Michael Janssen Digital Editor, Current SOC - School of Communication

Mike became Current's first digital editor in 2014 and began writing for Current in 2000, covering primarily public radio and digital initiatives in public media. Mike has also written for a variety o

  mjanssen@american.edu

Last name starts with K

Jean Kinnahan McGee Senior Graduate Academic Advisor SOC - School of Communication

Jean McGee serves as the graduate advisor for all graduate students in the School of Communication: full-time, part-time, weekend,  and online.Jean advises the graduate students from the time their de

  jmcgee@american.edu

  (202) 885-2078

Katerina Kulagina Assistant Dean for Graduate Academic Services SOC - School of Communication

Dr. Katerina Kulagina has over 20 years of experience working in higher education. Katerina joined American University’s School of Communication in 2017, where she oversees graduate marketing, recruit

  katerina@american.edu

  (202) 885-2272

Last name starts with M

Jeffrey Madison Director of Technology Services SOC - School of Communication

Former television director; former Walt Disney Studios Writing Fellow and Hollywood scripter; former airline pilot; current award-winning screenwriter and director; current aviation columnist and publ

  madison@american.edu

  (202) 885-2888

Theora Milledge Director, Communication & Outreach SOC - School of Communication

As Director of Communication and Outreach, Tia oversees communication strategy for the School of Communication to better engage current and prospective students, alumni and donors. She coordinates clo

  milledge@american.edu

  (202) 885-3695

Claire Morse Administrative Assistant, Graduate Services SOC - School of Communication

Claire Morse, a lifelong resident of PG County, Maryland, graduated magna cum laude from the University of Maryland with a B.S. in Animal Sciences. Claire has a varied work history. She has photograph

  morse@american.edu

  (202) 885-2040

Last name starts with N

Tariq Nadim Graduate Program Specialist SOC - School of Communication

Tariq Nadim joined SOC as the Graduate Program Specialist in March 2020. Tariq recently moved back to the U.S. from Australia where he spent most of his career in international education. Tariq brings

  tariq@american.edu

Jesse Nelson Academic Advisor SOC - School of Communication

Jesse joined the Advising Team at AU in 2021 and is extremely enthusiastic about working with the students and staff. Shortly after graduating from Mount Ida College in 2017, he spent some months livi

  jesse@american.edu

  (202) 885-2090

Last name starts with P

Kristi Plahn-Gjersvold Assistant Dean of Administration and Strategic Initiatives SOC - School of Communication

In her role as Assistant Dean for Administration & Strategic Initiatives, Kristi provides leadership for the School of Communication’s external research funding administration, execution of strategic

  kristipg@american.edu

  (202) 885-2059

Last name starts with R

Laura Ragusa Asst Dean-Budget and Technology SOC - School of Communication

Laura Murray has been a staff member at American University since 1977. Currently she works as the Assistant Dean for Budget and Facilities in the School of Communication. Her unit is responsible for

  lmurray@american.edu

  (202) 885-2063

Varsha Ramani Director of Operations, Cmsi SOC - School of Communication

Varsha Ramani is the Director of Operations for the Center for Media & Social Impact (CMSI). She is a marketing communications professional with an expertise in building relationships to work with mul

  varsha@american.edu

  (202) 885-3641

Pamela Roberts Director, IRW Development SOC - School of Communication

Pamela Roberts brings to IRW decades of nonprofit fundraising experience connecting donor interests with the missions of strong organizations. She raised philanthropic support for Imagination Stage, t

  pamelar@american.edu

  (202) 885-3601

Laura Rogers Business Manager, Current SOC - School of Communication

I've been with SOC/Current as manager of business and circulation since 2005. The majority of my career has been accounting and office management positions for non-profit organizations.

  lrogers@american.edu

  (202) 885-6412

Last name starts with S

Shaun Schroth Adjunct Instructor SOC - School of Communication

Shaun oversees the Photography Labs at American. These include the darkroom, film processing, studio, and digital work areas in the Media Production Center.

  shaun@american.edu

  (202) 885-2094

Matthew Smith Administrative Assistant, Academic Affairs SOC - School of Communication

Cavalry Scout US Army Veteran (2006 to 2010) from Texas.  Worked at the University of Texas at Austin in the Liberal Arts Deans Office from 2014 to 2019.  Moved to DC in 2019 and began work at the Ame

  matthew@american.edu

Kylie Stigler Academic Advisor SOC - School of Communication

Kylie was born and raised in Delaware. She moved to New Orleans for school where she subsequently began working in college admissions and earned her master’s degree in Higher Education Administration.

  kstigler@american.edu

Last name starts with T

Meriem Tikue Finance Manager SOC - School of Communication

Meriem Tikue joined the SOC in July 2022. She is responsible for financial management and budget administration, including expense approvals, development of processes and procedures for budget forecas

  meriem@american.edu

Last name starts with U

Ana Maria Ulloa-Shields Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Academic Services SOC - School of Communication

Ana Maria joined SOC as Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Student Services in February 2022. Ana Maria has leadership experience at Carnegie Mellon and Columbia Universities, serving in Assistant, Asso

  anamaria@american.edu

  (202) 885-2049

Last name starts with V

Katherine Vera Event Planning Manager SOC - School of Communication

Katherine, who also goes by Kati, is the main point of contact for aspects of McKinley events and facilities usage and related logistics. She is responsible for American University’s booking system (E

  kati@american.edu

Last name starts with W

Last name starts with Z