Our caring, experienced team is here to help you. We prioritize finding highly qualified staff that represent the wide diversity of our student body, and work with all our students to find providers with whom they can be comfortable.

The Center for Well-Being houses mental health professionals, skilled clinical trainees, advocacates, and peer health educators.  Our clinical trainees, including Post-Doctoral Fellows, Doctoral Interns, and Clinical Externs. Our Peer Health Educators (PHEs) are undergraduate students who are highly trained by Well-Being Centerstaff in various health-related topics, especially those that are pertinent to college students at AU.

Referrals can also be made off-campus. To help students who seek off-campus services find a suitable therapist and navigate initial appointments, we have staff who are dedicated for referral management. For prescriptions and other psychiatric services and medical management, students may be seen at the Student Health Center.

Clinical Staff

Jeffrey Volkmann Executive Director, Counseling Center Counseling Center

Dr. Jeffrey Volkmann, PhD is a Board Certified, Licensed Clinical Psychologist. Dr. Volkmann is currently the Executive Director at the Counseling Center. He completed his doctorate in Clinical Psycho

  (202) 885-3500

Shatina Williams Director of Clinical Services Counseling Center

Dr. Shatina Williams is a licensed psychologist in the District of Columbia. Before her joining the AU Counseling Center team, Dr. Williams completed her APA-accredited internship at our very own Amer

  shatinaw@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Jacquelin Darby Director of Well-Being Outreach and Prevention Services Counseling Center

Dr. Jacquelin Darby provides individual and group counseling services, crisis intervention services, and outreach services. Dr. Darby completed her post-doctorate fellowship at the American University

  jdarby@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Melissa Meulman Associate Director for Training Counseling Center

Dr. Melissa Meulman, Psy.D. is a Licensed Psychologist and the Associate Director for Training at the AU Counseling Center.  She provides individual and group therapy, crisis intervention and outreach

  mmeulman@american.edu

Alexa Glazer Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Alexa Glazer is a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker and Staff Clinician at the American University Counseling Center. Prior to joining the Counseling staff at AU, she has had experience in s

  aglazer@american.edu

Dave Jean Staff Psychologist Counseling Center

Dr. Dave K Jean is a staff clinician at the AU Counseling Center where he provides individual & group counseling, crisis interventions, outreach, and supervision. Dr. Jean has worked in a number of di

  dkjean@american.edu

Jacquelyn Nuber Staff Psychologist Counseling Center

Dr. Jacquelyn Nuber is a staff clinician at the American University Counseling Center. Prior to joining the counseling staff at AU, Dr. Nuber has had experience working in university counseling, commu

  jnuber@american.edu

Ka Yan Danise Mok Staff Psychologist Counseling Center

Dr. Ka Yan Danise Mok is a licensed psychologist at the AU Counseling Center where they provide a variety of services including individual and group therapy, crisis intervention, and outreach services

  mokky@american.edu

Katherine Larrabee Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Kate Larrabee is a licensed clinical social worker in the District of Columbia. Before coming to the American University Counseling Center, she worked in community mental health and intensive outpatie

  Larrabee@american.edu

Malini Basdeo Staff Psychologist Counseling Center

Dr. Malini Basdeo is a Staff Psychologist at the American University Counseling Center, where she provides individual and group therapy, crisis intervention, and outreach services. Prior to joining th

  basdeo@american.edu

Michelle Dagne Victim Services Advocate Health Promotion and Advocacy Ctr

Michelle Dagne joined AU in September 2019. She is a DMV native, born and raised in Silver Spring, MD! She got her Bachelor of Science in Psychology from the University of Maryland, College Park (fun

  dagne@american.edu

Ronald Denson Jr AOD Prevention Specialist Counseling Center

Ronald Denson Jr., (“J.R.”) a native Washingtonian, is a health policy advisor and educator. He manages the alcohol and other drugs (AOD) programming at American University. His work supports students

  rdenson@american.edu

Natalie Price Health Educator Health Promotion and Advocacy Ctr

Natalie Price is a born and raised Michigander from Grand Rapids, MI. She is a recent graduate from Kalamazoo College and has her Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and Gender Studies. During her time at

  nataliep@american.edu

Rachel Dietrich Staff Clinician - Law School (wcl) Counseling Center

Rachel Dietrich is a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker in the District of Columbia and a Licensed Clinical Social Worker in the Commonwealth of Virginia. She is thrilled to combine her passi

  racheld@american.edu

Administrative Staff

Tavia Harper Senior Administrative Assistant Counseling Center

Tavia, a native Washingtonian, came to AU via Select Staffing Temporary Agency in early 2000. Tavia started as an Administrative Assistant in the former “Center for Psychological and Learning Services

  tharper@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

2022 - 2023 Fellows

Joy Hunter Postdoctoral Fellow Counseling Center

Joy Hunter is a post-doctorate fellow at the American University Counseling Center (AUCC) Dr. Hunter received her Psy.D. in Clinical Psychology at Regent University. She is also a Certified Substance

  jhunter@american.edu

2022-2023 Doctoral Interns

Alexander Patterson Intern Clinician A Counseling Center

Alex Patterson, M.A. is a doctoral intern at the Center for Wellbeing Programs and Psychological Services who provides individual and group therapy, outreach, and consultation services. He approaches

  patterson@american.edu

Dipana Jain Intern Clinician C Counseling Center

Dipana Jain, M.A., is a doctoral intern at the Center for Wellness Programing and Psychological Services. She provides individual and group therapy, outreach programs, consultation, and crisis managem

  dipanaj@american.edu

Pearis Bellamy Intern Clinician D Counseling Center

Pearis Bellamy, M.S. is a doctoral intern at the Center for Well-Being Programs and Psychological Services. She provides individual and group therapy, outreach programs, consultation, and crisis manag

  pbellamy@american.edu

Reema Mobeireek Intern Clinician B Counseling Center

Reema Mobeireek, M.A. is an Intern Clinician who provides individual and group therapy, crisis intervention, and outreach services at the Center. Her clinical interests include interpersonal/relations

  reema@american.edu

Clinical Trainees:

Each academic year our staff is also joined by clinical externs who are advanced graduate students in Counseling or Clinical Psychology from graduate programs in the DC area and Mid-Atlantic region.

2022-2023 Clinical Externs: