Physics Faculty and Staff

Please see below for Adjunct & Emeritus Faculty or Department Staff.

Chair

Nathan Harshman Professor CAS - Physics

Professor Harshman pursues research in theoretical physics, focusing his studies on the intersection of quantum information theory and particle physics. Entanglement is a fundamental resource for many

  harshman@american.edu

  (202) 885-3479

Full-Time Faculty

Aaron Grocholski Professorial Lecturer CAS - Physics

Aaron Grocholski is a Professorial Lecturer at American University focusing on teaching Introductory Astronomy, Astrophysics, and a complex problems class he developed called "Asteroid Apocalypse" whi

  grochols@american.edu

Silvina Guidoni Asst Professor CAS - Physics

Professor Silvina Guidoni is a theoretical and computational heliophysicist who focuses on the study of solar flares and coronal mass ejections (the most powerful bursts in the solar system). These so

  guidoni@american.edu

  (202) 885-2728

Gregory Harry Professor and Department Chair, Physics CAS - Physics

Gregg Harry works to detect gravitational waves from supernovas, neutron stars, pulsars, and possibly the Big Bang.  In this way, he is testing Einstein’s theory of gravity against Newton’s. An astrop

  harry@american.edu

  (202) 885-3566

Philip Johnson Assoc Professor CAS - Physics

Philip Johnson received his PhD in theoretical physics from the University of Maryland in 2000, as a member of the Gravitational Theory Group working on problems at the interaction of general relativi

  pjohnson@american.edu

  (202) 885-2761

Teresa Larkin Assoc Professor CAS - Physics

Teresa L. Larkin is an Associate Professor of Physics Education at American University and Director of the Dual-Degree Program in affiliation with Columbia University’s School of Engineering and Appli

  tlarkin@american.edu

  (202) 885-2766

Jessica Uscinski Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Physics

Jessica Uscinski recently joined the Physics Department at American University as an Assistant Professor in Fall 2008. She received her PhD in Theoretical Physics from the University of Arizona in 200

  uscinski@american.edu

  (202) 885-3505

Adunct & Emeritus Faculty

Department Staff