You are here: American University College of Arts & Sciences Biology Faculty and Staff

Biology Faculty and Staff

Last name starts with A

Lynne Arneson Director, Premedical Program CAS - Biology

Following an education in the Midwest culminating in a PhD in Cell Biology at the University of Chicago, Professor Arneson began teaching students in the Department of Biology at American University i

  larneso@american.edu

  (202) 885-2186

Last name starts with B

Meg Bentley Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Biology

I earned a PhD in Molecular Biology and Genetics from Northwestern University studying the role of protein ubiquitination and the APC/C complex in Drosophila melongaster. After research and teaching p

  mbentley@american.edu

  (202) 885-2196

John Bracht Assoc Professor CAS - Biology

Short Summary of Bracht lab research interests:

Given the central importance of the genome, it is surprising that some organisms simply eliminate significant portions of it from

  jbracht@american.edu

  (202) 885-2189

Last name starts with C

David Carlini Assoc Professor CAS - Biology

My research interests include 1) the evolution and genetics of natural populations, and 2) the molecular evolution of protein-coding genes. With regard to 1), our research involves comparing surface a

  carlini@american.edu

  (202) 885-2184

Brenda Chow Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Biology

Dr. Brenda Chow is a molecular biologist whose research interests include understanding how environmental signals (such as light and temperature) regulate the circadian clock to improve growth and fit

  bchow@american.edu

  (202) 885-3921

Last name starts with F

Last name starts with H

Rebecca Hazen Professorial Lecturer CAS - Biology

I am an evolutionary biologist and an urban ecologist. My research has focused on the evolution of plant-insect interactions and the mechanisms that shape the ecology of urban landscapes. My approach

  hazen@american.edu

Last name starts with K

Jeffrey Kaplan Prof Emeritus

Jeffrey Kaplan received a PhD in biology from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1980. Before joining AU in 2012, Kaplan served as a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Albert Einstein College of Medicin

  (202) 885-2113

W. Wade Kothmann Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Biology

Dr. Kothmann received his PhD from the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston where he studied signal transduction pathways that mediate adaptive reorganization of retinal circuits in re

  wadek@american.edu

  (202) 885-3978

Naden Krogan Assoc Professor CAS - Biology

Dr. Krogan is a developmental biologist interested in how gene regulation guides the formation of complex tissues and organs in eukaryotes. The proper arrangement of these structures usually requires

  nkrogan@american.edu

  (202) 885-2203

Last name starts with N

Last name starts with S

Catherine Schaeff Assoc Professor CAS - Biology

Dr. Schaeff ‘s training is in evolutionary biology and behavior. Her current research* explores how sex, gender and sex/gender inform one’s identity or sense of self, and how one’s sense of self shape

  schaeff@american.edu

  (202) 885-2175

Last name starts with T

Christopher Tudge Professor CAS - Biology

Dr. Tudge is a reproductive biologist with particular interests in the reproductive biology of invertebrates. His research focuses on the reproductive cells and associated structures, evolutionary mec

  ctudge@american.edu

  (202) 885-2033