Anthropology Faculty & Staff

Chair

Graduate Director

Full-time Faculty

Orisanmi Burton Asst Professor CAS - Anthropology

As a social anthropologist working in the United States, my research examines the imbrication of grassroots resistance and state repression. Within this broad area of inquiry, my present work explores

  oburton@american.edu

  (202) 885-6792

Arvenita Cherry Public Anthropologist-in-Residence CAS - Anthropology

Arvenita Washington Cherry is a socio-cultural and educational anthropologist with expertise on the African Diaspora, race and ethnicity, and racism. Her research focuses on social constructions of bl

  awcherry@american.edu

  (202) 885-6342

C. Anne Claus Assoc Professor CAS - Anthropology

C. Anne Claus is a cultural anthropologist who researches environmental issues in contemporary seascapes, primarily in Japan. Her academic work investigates how the interplay of international and loca

  claus@american.edu

  (202) 885-6797

Zev Cossin Professorial Lecturer CAS - Anthropology

Zev Cossin is an historical archaeologist and environmental anthropologist, specializing in the Ecuadorian Andes. His research integrates archaeological, archival, oral historical and ethnographic res

  cossin@american.edu

Thomas Husted Professor and Department Chair, Anthropology CAS - Economics

My research examines the political economy of various government expenditure programs, including primary and secondary education, income redistribution, and federal disaster aid.

  husted@american.edu

  (202) 885-3773

Manissa Maharawal Asst Professor CAS - Anthropology

I am a cultural anthropologist and critical geographer whose work focuses on eviction, race, displacement and the spatial and temporal dynamics of contemporary urban social movements from Occupy Wall

  manissam@american.edu

  (202) 885-6641

Mubbashir Rizvi Professorial Lecturer CAS - Anthropology

My research and teaching interests span social movements, political ecology, racial capitalism in South Asia and its diasporas. My book, The Ethics of Staying: Social Movements and Land Rights in Paki

  mrizvi@american.edu

Thurka Sangaramoorthy Professor CAS - Anthropology

I am a cultural and medical anthropologist and public health researcher with 22 years of experience conducting community-engaged ethnographic research among vulnerable populations in the United States

  thurkas@american.edu

Daniel Sayers Assoc Professor CAS - Anthropology

In over two decades working in the field of Historical Archaeology, Dr. Sayers has covered a wide range of people, places, and social issues in his research. Dr. Sayers builds from a Marx-indebted wor

  sayers@american.edu

  (202) 885-1833

Gretchen Schafft Public Anthropologist-in-Residence CAS - Anthropology

The major foci of Gretchen Schafft’s career have been minority/majority interface, social justice, education and access to health care in the United States. In addition to her doctorate in anthropolog

  schafft@american.edu

  (202) 885-1830

Sue Taylor Public Anthropologist in Residence CAS - Anthropology

Taylor had extensive experience in nursing administration and clinical practice when she pursued a career in anthropology focusing on issues of health and gerontology. She directed a graduate program

  suet@american.edu

  (202) 885-6793

David Vine Professor CAS - Anthropology

I am the author of The United States of War: A Global History of America’s Endless Conflicts, from Columbus to the Islamic State (University of California Press, 2020), which is the third

  vine@american.edu

  (202) 885-2923

Rachel Watkins Assoc Professor CAS - Anthropology

I am a biocultural anthropologist whose work focuses on African American biohistory and social history, bioanthropological research practices and histories of (US) American biological anthropology. In

  watkins@american.edu

  (202) 885-1663

Buck Woodard Professorial Lecturer CAS - Anthropology

Buck Woodard is a cultural anthropologist specializing in historical and applied research, with interests in ethnographic and ethnohistorical writing, and ethnological study of indigenous North Americ

  woodard@american.edu

  (202) 885-6798